Skip Navigation

Wallace Breem Memorial Award Winners

The Wallace Breem Memorial Award is presented biennially in memory of Wallace Breem who died in 1990. Wallace was a distinguished member of the legal information profession who was Librarian and Keeper of the Manuscripts to the Honourable Society of The Inner Temple. He was also a founder member of BIALL who served at various times as Secretary and Treasurer, Chairman, Vice-President and President.

Current holder

 2016: The Institute of Advanced Legal Studies Library for producing the current awareness section in LIM and administering the BIALL / SLS Survey of Academic Law Libraries.

Previous winners

2014:  Natasha Choolhun for her work initiating and taking forward BIALL’s work on legal information literacy, resulting in the Legal Information Literacy Toolkit.

2012: Inner Temple Library for 'Transcripts of Judicial Proceedings in England and Wales: a Guide to Sources', the daily current awareness blog and the Access to Law Database.

2010:  Steven Whittle, Information Systems Manager at the Institute of Advanced Legal Studies for his considerable contribution to projects such as the FLAG (Foreign Law Guide) database, Intute Law, the CALIM (Current Awareness for Legal Information Managers) database and the FLARE Index to Treaties.

2008: Cathie Jackson for her work on Citing the Law.

2004: Peter Clinch for the Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations.

2002: Peter Clinch for the FLAG project.

2000: Sarah Carter for LAWLINKS

1998: Betty Moys and Jules Winterton for their joint editing of Information Sources in Law, 2nd ed, 1997

1996: Jill Newell for her current awareness section in the Law Librarian 

1994: Christine Miskin for the Legal Journals Index

1992: Guy Holborn for Sources of Biographical Information on Past Lawyers. The Law Librarian Vol 23 1992.