Skip Navigation

LexisLibrary Awards

We are now accepting nominations for the LexisLibrary Awards 2016

The Awards and Bursaries Committee is welcoming nominations for 2016 via surveymonkey until 19th May:



About the Awards

Now known as The LexisLibrary Awards, formerly The Halsbury’s Awards, these awards were established in 2007 by the BIALL Awards & Bursaries Committee and LexisNexis. They replaced the previously named BIALL Awards for Excellence which were presented in 2005 and 2006.

The LexisLibrary Awards were conceived in order to recognise, celebrate and reward the dedicated performance and outstanding service given by legal information services, law libraries and those teams managing legal collections and resources. These awards are particularly unique as they are the only legal information service awards that recognise the value and importance of dedicated team work within our sector.

2007 marked the centenary of Halsbury's Laws of England, the definitive authority of the law of England and Wales.  BIALL and LexisNexis chose to celebrate the centenary by establishing these awards in association with BIALL for the Best Legal Information Services in the UK and Ireland.  The inaugural presentations were made at a special event held at The Inner Temple on 16th October 2007.

2015 Winners

The winners of the LexisLibrary Awards 2015 were announced on Friday 12th June at the British and Irish Association of Law Librarians (BIALL) Annual Conference held in Brighton.  The awards were presented by Marianne Barber, President of the British and Irish Association of Law Librarians, and Tom Laidlaw, Head of Academic Development at LexisNexis.

Best Legal Information Service Outside of London (Commercial Sector): Irwin Mitchell

Outside of London, the winning team are admired by their lawyers for extremely high level of service and willingness to go the extra mile. Time and time again their responsiveness is mentioned, with admiration at how this can be the case even with very complex requests. A lovely comment was that the team always handle enquiries with grace, speed and accuracy. Several nominations include details of where the lawyer had thought a case might have to be rejected, but the library's rigorous research proved otherwise. The winning team is Irwin Mitchell.

Best Legal Information Service (Commercial Sector) - London Only: Withers LLP

In this category there were some very strong nominations, with a lot of love coming from the lawyers! The firm chosen to receive the award for Best Commercial Legal Service within London stood out because many of the nominations were for individuals in the library, hinting at close working relationships with the firm. Responsiveness was a characteristic threaded through many of the nominations, with appreciation of their knowledge and exceptional service. This team are described as "go to" people, proactive, creative and invaluable.

The fact that they relocated their offices with no dip in service was admired by many. They are lauded for playing a crucial role in the firm's international strategic initiatives. The winning team is from Withers.

Best Legal Information Service (Non-Commercial Sector): The Law Library (Bar Council of Ireland)

This category always attracts strong nominations, however our winning team this evening are made up of some very tenacious individuals - being described as 'leaving no stone unturned', 'bending over backwards to assist' and very much operating 'beyond the call of duty'. They are admired for having consistently delivered an unsurpassed level of service as well as their ability to move with the times in terms of technology provision for their users. Their ability to find obscure cases from any jurisdiction is noted often. One nomination describes a barrister looking for a judgment and his appreciation of the librarian - describing his can-do attitude and how he felt like he was 'playing for his team' - not a service provider but a fellow professional. The winning team is the Law Library of Ireland.

Previous winners


Previous recipients of the awards.